top of page

Me and my last entry-level writing course: Writing 39A

Hi everyone. My name is Zhihan Liu and I am the second year students in UCI. I come from China and this is my second year at U.S. I'm currently double majored in economics and anthropology. I have a lot of hobbies. Drawing is my favorite and I also do it in a somewhat professional state, instead of just a hobby.

The last writing course I took before writing 39A was Academic English Writing 20C. The focus was annotated bibliography and some basic grammars and syntax. I learned how to write in MLA format and how to cite sources correctly. I also learned what was annotated bibliography and how to write it.

I think I still has a lot of problems on writing effectively. In the past, when I was taking one of my anthropology class, I found that I had problems on using verbs correctly. I didn't know how to use a verb. For instance, I remembered that I used the word "resume" without adding anything after the word. My professor said he was confused because I was supposed to say "resume something" instead of just saying "resume." And I have problems on writing one thing in different words. I think Maybe I am not familiar enough with the language as English is my second language. But I tried to overcome it by looking up in the dictionary and finding various words.

I think I am good at some basic grammars. In the course Academic English Writing 20B, I seldomly had grammar problems on run-on sentence, relative pronouns and so on. However, my classmates would have lots of those problems. I think that is because I took a lot of effort on remember my mistakes when I was studying grammar in SAT.

I did wrong on six questions on Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect. I have problem with italic form of articles, which is also a form of citation. I do not know where to use italic words and where to not. I also have other problems like using "and" to connect two sentence or using a full stop. I do not understand a phrase "in its wake" and its relationship to "behind." This result is a little surprising to me because I thought I knew how to do in-text citation as I was taught by the former writing classes.

Summary about the course: 1. syllabus: This is a time-intensive class. I have to anticipate 12-14 hours per week to succeed in this course. 2. course objective: the objective is to make me a better all-round communicator. I will develop many good habits in writing like creative and responsible and learn lots of writing genres. 3. grade contract: if I do all the homework on time every week I will end up to have 84 on my final grade. I can do pretty well on the weekly assignment to get one more point each week. I can also do extra credit homework to get extra point.



37 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 Comments


Yian Lin
Yian Lin
Jan 18, 2021

Hi Linda:

Sometimes I also made mistakes on the use of word. I think I need to put more effort on improving my vocabulary. By the way, your painting looks gorgeous!

Like

Yinda Chen
Yinda Chen
Jan 17, 2021

Great to see that you put many of your writing weaknesses in this blog. Appreciate your honest and I hope you can overcome them. Also, I like your paintings.

Like

Ruihan Wang
Ruihan Wang
Jan 16, 2021

Hi Linda!

Drawing is also my favorite thing that I will choose to do during my free time. By the way, your painting is beautiful. I have never tried oil painting before, but after seeing your painting, I decided to try it in the future.

Like

About Me

me in six words.jpg

I am a second year college student from UCI. I double major in Economics and Anthropology. This is my last Entry-level writing course. It is my pleasure to meet and know you guys. Wish we can have a good journey of learning together.

#LeapofFaith

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page